top of page
  • Writer's picture52Steps

25 Steps to Improve your Hair.


Step 2 - Start to use dry shampoo between washes.


Dry shampoo will help wean you away from the damaging habit of daily hair washing. It is amazing stuff. It has magical grease-soaking-up properties and an additional benefit is that my thin, resistant-to-styling hair actually stays in a style and looks thicker when i've applied dry shampoo.

I have had to search out low/no fragrance versions as I can't stand my hair smelling of fake flowers/sea breezes/pine trees. I have two favourites...

Klorane (from Boots) has a slight chemical smell of aerosol when sprayed, but no lasting fragrance (it is pricey at £9 a can, yet the no-scent makes it worth it). It is practical in the sense that it can be applied when out and about, as it is in an aerosol can dispenser. I only use this type of dry shampoo occasionally, when on holiday for example, as I feel that it runs out quickly and therefore costs too much for everyday use.

No Drought (from Lush) has a slight (pleasant natural-lemony) smell when applied, but then is scent free. It looks like a bottle of talcum powder (which, essentially it is). This made me wary at first, as I expected that clouds of dust would result from clumsy application, meaning more bathroom cleaning (and whilst I do enjoy cleaning - as you may have gathered from other parts of this blog - I don't enjoy extra, unnecessary cleaning!) However, I've found that putting your head over the bath when applying the powder, stops it from going everywhere - you can rinse the bath out with a jug of water / shower attachment straight after to stop a dusty layer being left. This powder version from Lush lasts ages, which is lucky as it is also a pricey at almost £9. No Drought is my everyday hair-de-greasing saviour.

My hair loves dry shampoo, as using it means less frequent hair washing, which equals happier and healthier hair.

bottom of page