top of page
  • Writer's picture52Steps

52Eco#3 Swap your kitchen roll.


Arrgh! This was a difficult one for me. I was a BIG fan of traditional kitchen roll, I would use it for everything. But I knew it was wasteful - a waste of money and a waste of paper, meaning a waste of trees.


The solution for me is this reusable bamboo kitchen roll by EcoEgg, sold online by Ethical Superstore, for £10. Our one-and-only roll has lasted two years so far and virtually every sheet is still going strong!


It takes a little more organisation to use - the sheets come on a roll (like ordinary kitchen roll) but once you have used the sheets and washed them, you will need an easily-accessible box to keep them in. Ideally keep your reusable kitchen roll where the old kitchen roll used to be, so that others in your home get the idea of it. Also you need a handy box / tub to put the used (dirty) kitchen roll sheets ready for washing.


For really dirty kitchen jobs (such as wiping out a greasy pan after cooking meat) I suggest doing a pre-wipe with something other than your reusable kitchen roll. I usually wipe out greasy pans with whatever happens to be sitting at the top of my kitchen bin (e.g. a sellotape-covered piece of packaging from an online order). Some of our reusable kitchen roll sheets do have stains on, but most things wash off remarkably well.


We keep this basket (pictured below) on the windowsill in the kitchen, it contains the roll (still half-unused a year-in), the washed-clean sheets folded up and an old yoghurt tub for the dirty, used sheets - ready to be put in the washing machine.



I rinse the used kitchen roll immediately, so it doesn't start to smell when they are stored in the ex-yoghurt tub. After a few days I put the rinsed kitchen roll sheets in the wash with the normal laundry -they can stand being washed at 60C, but with Napisan you can sanitise them at 40C- see my 52HOME blog if you haven't discovered Napisan yet...



bottom of page